, , , , ,

About The Dirt on the Ninth Grave by Darynda Jones

In a small village in New York lives Jane Doe, a girl with no memory of who she is or where she came from. So when she is working at a diner and slowly begins to realize she can see dead people, she’s more than a little taken aback. Stranger still are the people entering her life. They seem to know things about her. Things they hide with lies and half-truths. Soon, she senses something far darker. A force that wants to cause her harm, she is sure of it. Her saving grace comes in the form of a new friend she feels she can confide in and the fry cook, a devastatingly handsome man whose smile is breathtaking and touch is scalding. He stays close, and she almost feels safe with him around.

But no one can outrun their past, and the more lies that swirl around her—even from her new and trusted friends—the more disoriented she becomes, until she is confronted by a man who claims to have been sent to kill her. Sent by the darkest force in the universe. A force that absolutely will not stop until she is dead. Thankfully, she has a Rottweiler. But that doesn’t help in her quest to find her identity and recover what she’s lost. That will take all her courage and a touch of the power she feels flowing like electricity through her veins. She almost feels sorry for him. The devil in blue jeans. The disarming fry cook who lies with every breath he takes. She will get to the bottom of what he knows if it kills her. Or him. Either way.


Review of The Dirt on the Ninth Grave

I am terribly behind in this series. The finale, Summoned to the Thirteenth Grave, is out and I am up to #9. In order to promote the latest in the series, NetGalley was offering Read Now downloads of the rest of the series. So, I grabbed #9.

If you have never read any Charley Davidson books, The Dirt on the Ninth Grave would be an interesting place to start. But if you plan to read it without reading books 1-8, quit now, or there will be spoilers.

Imagine if you are not familiar with Charley’s background and you dive into book 9 and there is this amnesiac who has some strange abilities. She is surrounded by a group of people, co-workers and customers, that are at the diner she works for every day. One of her co-workers quickly became her best friend.

But you do know Charley’s background and you know that Charley is the amnesiac who mysteriously transported from New Mexico to New York at the end of book 8. Reyes, Cookie, Uncle Bob, Gareth, and Osh have found her and now they hang with her every day, but don’t tell her who she is. Why? You have to keep reading to find out.

As is typical in a Charley story, there are ghosts that need to figure out how to move on, a mystery to solve and the continuation of Charley’s supernatural life. The format of the story has not changed, just the name. Jane Doe. Or Janey Dooer, “because Jane Doe was so last week”.

Charley’s supernaturalness gets more supernatural with every book. She will never be one of us again. By us, I mean basic human. I’m not sure how I feel about that. I like, no, I love, Charley as she is. Smart, funny, brave, highly irreverent, and always knows exactly what to say. Will she ever lose any of those traits that we love as she transcends to her fated self? I hope not!!!!

This is the first Charley Davidson book I have actually read. Audiobooks got me through books 1-8. But narrator Lorelei King is sooo good, I could hear her voice as I read book 9. I’ve got to get back to the audiobooks as I continue. Or Ms. Jones’ writing is so good that Lorelei King and I are in sync when we read the story. Either way, I love these books and I will get caught up!

Through NetGalley, the publisher provided a copy of this book so that I could bring you my honest review.



Add The Dirt on the Ninth Grave to your Goodreads shelf:

Purchase The Dirt on the Ninth Grave: