Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I started typing the title for this post and I immediately though of Henry Wadsworth Longfellow’s poem Paul Revere’s Ride.  It actually starts out “Listen my children and you shall hear”.  But you get the idea.  The poem narrator is relating a tale, just like any good audiobook narrator. And there is the potential for something wonderful!

audiobooksI am a really big fan of audiobooks.  Exercise and car rides are what keep me listening to books.  I really like being able to download free audiobooks from my library’s electronic media consortium.  By the choices are limited there.  My second favorite source of audiobooks is Audible.  After purchasing a reasonably priced Kindle book, you can often get the Audible version pretty cheap.  And the variety of Audible titles is pretty much endless.

I rarely review audiobooks.  For one thing, I can’t take notes in the book.  For another thing, it’s hard to know how to spell fictional names and places.  And, I really can’t go back and re-read a particular section to get clarity for a review.

But audiobooks do consume a lot of my book time.  So I thought I would share some audiobooks I read in 2016 that I would have rated 5 stars if I had reviewed.  I’m going to split this up into two days – I listened to a lot of audiobooks.

For the few that I did review, links are tied to the book title.  Clicking on the book covers will take you to the Kindle version so you can check it out in more detail.

2016 Audiobooks – Part 1

barrayarthe-warriors-apprentice

The Vorkosigan Saga is a masterful scifi series by Lois McMaster Bujold.  I listened to Grover Gardner’s narration of both Barrayar and The Warrior’s Apprentice.   Bujold’s future is brilliantly creative and full of characters that are complex, emotional and human.  The series has been around for a while, and there are several books for me to catch up on.

trickedtrappedhuntedshattered

The very talented Luke Daniels is the narrator of The Iron Druid Chronicles by Kevin Hearne.  I would call this urban fantasy, although the action takes place all over the world rather than one major city.  Tricked, Trapped, Hunted, and Shattered are #4, 5, 6 and 7 respectively.  I love the humor in this series.  And the telepathic Irish Wolfhound, Oberon.  Lots of gods and myths mixed with action and funny stuff.  I’m sticking with this series – I’m currently on #8 on the waiting list to check out the next audiobook in the series.

the-cursedThe Cursed by Heather Graham is one of her Krewe of Hunters books.  This is a suspense/paranormal/romance series that does not have to be read in order.  The Krewe of Hunters tales are always a great read/listen!  The Cursed is also narrated by Luke Daniels.

The Better Part of Valor The Better Part of Valoris the 2nd book in Tanya Huff’s military scifi Confederation series.  I love the tough Staff Sergeant Tobin Kerr and her merry band of Marines. With no cliff hangers, I am taking my time going this this series.  Technically, the Confederation series ended after book 5, but Ms. Huff took her main character Tobin Kerr, and started a new series in 2015, Peacekeeper with the first book An Ancient Peace.  I really hope someday I can catch up!

the-dark-lords-handbookThe Dark Lords Handbook by Paul Dale is the first in a fantasy series about a young man who aspires to be a Dark Lord.  Very funny, it makes great fun of so many archetypical fantasy characters and themes.  The narration by Gildart Jackson really brings out the silliness.  I really like this one, but unless I get a really good deal on the audiobook, I probably won’t continue.

Clockwork HeartSteampunk novel Clockwork Heart by Dru Pagliassotti has an unusual setting and a heroine with mechanical wings.  There is a mystery and many magnificent steampunk devices.  Very creative!

mosaicsMOSAICS is book 2 in the Track Presius series by E.E. Giorgi.  I did not read book 1, but it did not matter.  A gritty and, often creepy, police story in which the detective has some unusual tracking abilities.

That’s it for part 1 of my audiobook summary.  I’ll have part 2 on Wednesday, so I hope you will return.

Have you listened to any great audiobooks lately?

 

 

 

