Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Bang-Bang by Nyssa Juneau

This past month, I’ve been reading the Pets in Space anthology.  Not cover to cover, mind you, but jumping back and forth in the book, reading the story that appealed to me at the time.  Any animal lover will appreciate this group of stories and likely recognize their own pet in at least one of these stories.  The way they like to get your attention, play with you or just be in your company.  Or they way they just know when you need them.

This past week, while on vacation, I read Stray by Susan Grant.  Bang-Bang is the stray-turned-companion of Lukas who gets the news that his fiancée is missing.

He bent down on one knee, and Bang-Bang’s paw hooked over his forearm. “She’s missing.” He managed to get the words out. Inconceivable words. It seemed surreal that he might never see Carlynn again. Might never hold her…

The softest of sorrowful, high-pitched whines exited Bang-Bang’s throat, and Lukas almost lost it.

PETS_In_Space_cover_artHas anyone else had an experience similar to this one with Lukas and Bang-Bang?  I almost lost it too, when I read this passage.  At the time, I was far from home with none of my cats around me so I decided I was just missing my cats.  However, back home now and with Ozzy and Maddie for company, this passage has the same affect – watery eyes.

For a few more days, a part of the Pets in Space profits will go to Hero-Dogs.org, an organization that raises and trains service dogs and places them free of charge with US Veterans to improve quality of life and restore independence. So if you were thinking about buying this one, now is the time.

 

This weekend, I am listening to the audiobook of Barrayar by Lois McMaster Bujold.  It has been a while since I read the previous book in the Vorkosigan Saga, Shards of Honor (a favorite), so I am counting on the author to get me caught up on the politics of Barrayar.  So far, that is the consuming theme – politics.  Quite different from the action-oriented Shards of Honor, but still good.


 

What are you reading this weekend?

