Tags

, ,

It’s all about the book.  And then, for me, it’s about the review.

A little over 3 years ago, I joined Goodreads. It was my introduction to any type of social media. I was on Goodreads before I joined Facebook. I blame Goodreads for my out-of-control TBR list. Not that I added too many books found on Goodreads, but that, due to Goodreads, I branched out, met new friends, found new authors, subscribed to new newsletters and blogs and eventually, started blogging myself.

Goodreads Top 1%Goodreads is also the place I started posting reviews. As of today, I have posted 322 reviews there. And according to the very nice e-mail Goodreads sent me today, I am in the top 1% of reviewers on Goodreads. I don’t really know what that means, because they didn’t actually tell me how many reviewers there are. But it sounds really good!

Goodreads is celebrating a milestone – 50 million reviews. Again, not sure about that number and what they are actually counting. I’ve read a lot of stuff that doesn’t actually qualify as a review in my opinion. But still, a large percentage of it is legitimate. I know authors are always requesting reviews and it may seem like they don’t come fast enough, but there are many readers that are giving their input. Of course, many are not in the top 1% like me!

By the way, according to Goodreads, my most appreciated review was for The Seer by Ariel MacArran. Yay for SciFi Romance readers! And guess how I connected with Ariel – maybe you’ve guessed it. Through Goodreads!

