Tags

, , ,

Send to KindleIf you have a Kindle or use Kindle reading software, today’s post is for you.

I recently learned about an Amazon feature that allows you to easily send all kinds of documents to your e-reader. Now, I don’t know how long it has been available and some of you may already make use of it, but it was news to me, so I am sharing with you.

For the last few years, I’ve been e-mailing documents to my Kindle personal document library. This method actually works quite well. If you have a mobi- or Kindle- formated book, attach the book to an e-mail and send it to your Kindle address. I’ve also sent PDFs this way, with the additional step of typing ‘convert’ in the subject line of the e-mail. Both processes end up with a Kindle formatted document in your document library that you can view on your e-reader and manage on the Amazon website in your personal documents library.

Amazon has made the process even easier and has added the capability of sending other types of documents to your reader. There is a utility call Send to Kindle that is available for Windows and Mac. It allows you to right click on a document to send it.  Or you can use the print feature within the software that opens the document.

Here is the link to the Amazon page that will allow you to download the utility. The page also has some useful how-to information.

http://www.amazon.com/gp/sendtokindle/pc

It’s easy. Plus it has more options available than the older method I was using. After you have downloaded the utility, the easiest way to send a file to your Kindle library is to:

      1. Find it in your file explorer.
      2. Click on the file to select it.
      3. Right click to display a drop-down menu
      4. right clickChoose Send to Kindle
      5. Follow the dialog
      6. Send

Send to Kindle Dialog

The Send to Kindle dialog box allows you to choose which device to send the document to (such as e-reader or phone) and also, gives you an option to archive the document to your Kindle personal document library. I successfully tested this function on mobi, pdf and Word documents. While the mobi and pdf documents are sent as is, the Word document gets converted to Kindle format.

If you are in your file explorer and Send to Kindle does not appear when you right click, you will need to open the document in the software that created it. For example, I use Open Office for all my word processing needs. So I tested sending the Open Office document using the application’s print option. With Open Office, I selected print and found Send to Kindle under the list of printers. This works well also.  The utility converted the document to a PDF for reading on my Kindle software.

Print Dialog

There is also a drag and drop option that I did not test, since the other two methods will most likely cover all my needs.

Be sure to connect your device to your wireless network in order to receive the documents from the Send to Kindle function.

One drawback that I noted is that this process takes longer, especially if you are sending more than one document. It takes less time for me to send via e-mail than to wait for the upload to complete. Also if I want to send several documents in one e-mail, I can. But the Send to Kindle option works on only one document at a time.

I do like having the option to not archive my document in my personal documents library. The e-mail method automatically archives it. If I don’t want it archived, I have to go to my Amazon account and delete it there. With the Send to Kindle utility, you can skip that step simply by unchecking a box.  And, as I mentioned earlier, with Send to Kindle, I can send more than just mobi and PDF formats, so the new (to me) method has some additional options.  According to Amazon, the following document types can be sent:

  • Microsoft Word (.DOCX)
  • Microsoft Word (.DOC)
  • TXT (.TXT)
  • RTF (.RTF)
  • JPEG (.JPEG, .JPG)
  • GIF (.GIF)
  • PNG (.PNG)
  • BMP (.BMP)
  • PDF (.PDF)
  • MOBI (.MOBI

 

I successfully tested the mobi, PDF, Word and Open office documents on my Windows 7 PC, sending the documents to a Nexus 7 (Android) tablet loaded with the Kindle reading software.  Your actual results may vary.

I’m curious.  Am I the last person to find out about Send to Kindle?  Do you use this Send to Kindle utility?  Or do you e-mail files to your Kindle library?  Or is there some other method we need to know about?

